dCOM Meeting Today…

Well, I had my first interview with the District Committee on Ordained Ministry in the Mark Twain District of the Missouri United Methodist Conference (now THAT’S a mouthful to say, isn’t it?) this afternoon; it was basically a 45 minute question-and-answer session where the committee drilled me with questions like “Explain your call into the ministry” and “Where do you see yourself in the ministry in 5 years?” and “How does your family feel about your entering the ministry?”

After that session, I felt spiritually drained and very tired. But I prayed that the Holy Spirit would go before me and give me the words to say to these people…words that would allow them to see that I want to live my life for Christ and Him alone, and that Jesus is the focus of everything that I do in the ministry.

Afterwards, my pastor, Rev. Mike White (who also sits on the dCOM) and our DS, Rev. Bill Koch, said I did fine, and that I am being recommended for Local Licensing School as a certified candidate for ministry. Just another hoop I have to jump through in the ministerial process.  😦

All in all, it was a good day. Long, perhaps…but worth the time spent.

3 Responses to dCOM Meeting Today…

  1. jeanniedavis says:

    I am so proud of you for taking on this God appointed task. God has big plans for our family and he has chosen you to be our fearless leader. I know that God will take care of us whatever task he decides to put us in. Thank you, God, for letting us be your disciples. It is both a pleasure and an honor.

    I love you, honey, and thank you for being my spiritual guide. No one has ever been there to do that for me before. I consider it a privilege to stand by your side as you become everything God wants you to be. ILY

  2. sliceofhome says:

    And I love you, Jeannie…thank you for being my steadfast ministry partner and loving wife through all of this long, drawn-out process. The waiting is almost over! 🙂

  3. Julie says:

    Congratulations on another hoop you have made it through. If you think these are tough, just wait until your prospective followers will put you through. I am proud of you and I know you will have a positive influence in all you do. I see the influence you have had on Jean, and it has been good! Congrats again.
    Julie

Leave a Reply

