Good Friday Thoughts…

Lots on my mind and heart as we near the end of Holy Week, culminating in Easter Sunday and the Resurrection of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Here’s a sampling:

  •  Maundy Thursday services yesterday evening were very solemn and emotional; I helped participate in the foot washing of disciples and also read from John 13:1-15, where Jesus speaks on being a servant to each other. Our pastor, Rev. Mike White, asked me to share my thoughts as I washed feet…and the only thing I could think of was the wonderful example Jesus gave to us when He knelt, without hesitation, and washed His disciples feet. I felt the tears, hot and bitter, well up in my eyes…all of us could do well to remember the Love that Jesus has for all of us.
  • Today (Friday) has been one of reflection on last night, and what it really means to be a humble servant of Christ…and God has really spoken to me about this. IMHO, I think what Jesus was really trying to teach all of us who claim the Saving Grace of our Lord is that we ought to be loving others with no conditions and above all, we should do for others before ourselves. Washing feet is one example; making a phone call to just ask how they are doing is another; stopping by to visit someone sick in the hospital or in a nursing home is another; etc. etc. etc. Servitude takes on many forms; we should ask God to reveal in our hearts and lives how we can better serve Him for others.
  • Trinity UMC is showing “The Passion of the Christ” this evening at 7PM in the sanctuary. This will undoubtedly hit home hard for many of us, and there’ll be many tears shed as well. If you’re in the area, please stop in and share in this magnificent portrayal of the suffering of Christ Jesus.
  • Local Pastor’s Licensing School is coming up in about one month. I am nervous, excited, apprehensive..you name it, I’m there. But I know this is just one more step that leads into full-time Christian service to my Lord and Savior, and I will do whatever it takes to be able to help lead souls into the Kingdom of God. It’s a BIG responsibility, being a shepherd to a congregation….but I know that this is what God would have this servant to do. Please continue to remember me in your prayers. And…thanks to all for the encouragement along the way.

I hope and pray that everyone has a safe and enjoyable Easter..and may you always remember the Love and Mercy that was given to us through Jesus Christ the Lord.  🙂

Leave a Reply

