June 2007 Linn County Leader Column – “Do It Anyway…”

Ever have song lyrics just stick in the back of your mind and they won’t go away?

Yeah, I’m one of those people, too. Lately, there is one particular song that I can’t seem to shake; and I think it’s because it matches so well spiritually with what I’ve experienced throughout my Christian life. The song is by Martina McBride; it’s called “Anyway”. The chorus is especially thoughtful:

“God is great
But sometimes life ain’t good
And when I pray
It doesn’t always turn out like I think it should
But I do it anyway
I do it anyway”

(Martina McBride; from the album “Waking Up Laughing”, copyright 2007)

Now, my particular musical tastes do NOT lean to country music; I’m more of a rock and pop guy. Yet, it seems that every time I turn on a radio or watch TV or anything else, this song is playing. I think it’s a good reminder for me of what the Lord has brought me through, and what He continues to do with my life.

We all spend our lives dreaming; building; loving; even pouring our very souls into things around us. That’s the wonderful aspect of life; it is precious to hold onto, yet it is fleeting. Things that you and I might deem important may be total foolishness to someone else. Yet, we are all tied together in that common bond that is called life.

And, sure, sometimes life “ain’t” good. And sometimes, when we pray, things don’t turn out the way we think they should. But we can do it (pray) anyway, can’t we?

And when we do pray, we can rest assured that God is listening. He knows every desire in our hearts and lives, and He wants the best for us. He even gives us those little hints along the way, whether they be a friendly bit of advice from a neighbor, loved one or friend, or even something as mundane as a song heard over and over again; one that you just can’t get out of your head.

Think about that the next time you can’t get that voice or song out of your thoughts. God might want your attention!

Any questions or comments can be directed to Richard’s blog at https://sliceofhome.wordpress.com or via e-mail at sliceofhome@gmail.com His column appears monthly in the Linn County Leader.

Leave a Reply

