Now That The Dust Has Settled…

There have been many people who have asked me why in the world I stopped writing my column in the Linn County Leader; the simple reason is that I have decided to devote all of my energies into both the ministry that God has called Jeannie and I into, plus I am picking up where I left off many years ago with my creative writing projects that have sadly been neglected.

On January 1st, one of my New Year’s resolutions is to begin that novel that I have been dreading to write for many years…and that is my autobiography. Not for myself and for fame and fortune; not for people to read and point fingers at; but for the legacy I will leave behind for my children, and my family.

You see, God has truly blessed me with wonderful kids; yet even they do not know what I have been through in my life–the homelessness; the drug and alcohol abuse; the very bottom depths of the pits of hell that I found myself in, time and time again. No one was to blame for this tragedy but myself…yet the Lord in His awesome love, mercy, and grace, gave me a new life. A life in Him; a life that was no longer my own but was to be lived spreading the Good News that Jesus can, indeed, save souls.

I was one of those souls. And my children; my wife; my friends…they all need to hear this story. A story of a wretch, mired in the sludge of life’s pigpen, who was given a second chance at life.

So, my friends, the challenge begins on Jan. 1. Please pray for me as I set aside a couple of hours per day to embark on this amazing journey once again. I only imagine that there will be tears; there will be memories dredged up out f the muck; but, ultimately, there will be freedom as I share God’s power to give peace to a man who was once blind…but now can truly see.

One Response to Now That The Dust Has Settled…

  1. cindy says:

    I can’t wait to read it!!

Leave a Reply

