In Spite of the Storm…

When I felt the call from God to move back to the small town of Brookfield, MO, I pondered to quietly ask several questions; the biggest of those was “Why?”

Of course, I knew the answer, no matter how hard I tried to deny it. The Lord was preparing my heart and life for one of the toughest challenges that I have ever had to face: and that was coming back to the place where I had began my downward spiral into drug and alcohol abuse and do the exact opposite: to lead those who were in the same gut-wrenching experience out of the darkness and into the Light of Jesus Christ…and to do that, I would have to completely sacrifice self.

So, twelve years, two pastorates, and many gray hairs later, the ministry still continues. There have been many joyfully led to Christ and baptized; several awesome tent revivals where our community actually came together to worship God; and some truly spectacular praise experiences…yet, on the flip side, there have been many nights of tears; of second guessing things; and many hours wondering if life would ever slow down so we could have a chance to breathe.

To be honest, folks, it’s been ROUGH at times. This servant would have never imagined just how heartbreaking the ministry could be, and how many people would say one thing to your face and then turn and stab you in the back. Murmurings and gossip abound on all sides, and the gigantic waves of the world seem to always threaten to capsize our lives.

And yet, in spite of the storm, His anchor holds us fast. We know that, at the end of the hurricanes of this world, there is a light waiting for us and everything will turn out ok. We know that, even when life seems at its bleakest, there is always hope in the eternal promises that the Lord gives to us. That’s what keeps us going!

Jesus Himself says these words in Revelation 3:8: “Behold, I have set before you an open door, which no one is able to shut. I know that you have but little power, and yet you have kept my word and have not denied my Name.”

THIS is the promise that this servant holds on to…and no matter what, I will never deny His name, and I will always keep His word.

He loved me in spite of myself, and He proved that love for me at Calvary. And I will always do my best to show that same kind of love to others, no matter how much the world may try to shove me down, beat me up, or spit me out.

Storms come, and storms go. But praise be to God, because He will forever remain by my side.

Stand fast in Him, my friends!!

One Response to In Spite of the Storm…

  1. Reblogged this on Heavenly Ramblings and commented:
    My husband wrote this blog today and I just had to share. I have missed his writing so very much. Sometimes he says things in a much nicer way than I “want” to so it is easier to let him speak for me.

Leave a Reply

