The Argument for Apocalypse

Yeah, I know…that’s a pretty radical and morbid title for a post, but it’s one that I’ve been spinning around in my head for a few days as I work on another story outline. This one? A three novel arc that spans generations and brings a deep spiritual aspect to the age-old adage of “good vs. evil”.

So, in light of what I’m working on, I thought I’d share this tidbit: I’m sometime asked what I think of the world we live in now, and will there be an apocalypse on day? Well, being a fan of The Walking Dead and other world-altering stories (my favorite by far is “I Am Legend” by Richard Matheson), I would have to say that it weighs heavily on me from time to time; could this be the way that the world ends? With a huge party favor complete with zombie fireworks, or with a flu-like whimper as in Stephen King’s “The Stand”?

My opinion? I’d have to say with maybe a little of both. If we did have manivores (flesh-eating people, get it?), then all it would take is a few bath salt-sniffing addicts to alter their brain chemistry enough to insitute the necessary changes in behavioral patterns to think that it’s really okay to ingest a few innards. Could that sort of disease be spread virally or biologically? Probably not. On the AS (Apocalypse Scale), a tepid 3 out of 10, since there would have to be a WHOLE lot of sniffing agents to make the entire world a glorious all-your-can-eat buffet.

Or how about a man made, genetically produced bio agent courtesy of the good ol’ U.S. of A.? One that escapes (or is let loose) from underground labs and mutates humans into muchin’ machines, a la Resident Evil? Method of transmission primarily via physical (chewing) contact. This scenario has a good side, though.  After a while, their food source would be exhausted; so, all one would have to do is stock up, board up, lock up, and wait it out. On the AS; say about 6 or 7 out of 10.

Worst-case scenario? Believe it or not, nuclear devastation would wipe out a majority of the world’s population in seconds, and the lingering after effects could last hundreds of years via nuclear winter, radiation poisoning over a vast wasteland, mass starvation, etc. Billions dead, major cities wiped out, utilities eradicated…basically, a survivalist’s nightmare. Tally on the AS, a perfect apocalyptic storm of 10 out of 10.

One thing to keep in mind: during any apocalyptic event, the playing field will be leveled dramatically as societies roll back to the Stone Age. There will be no more rich or poor, and no privileged class to lord over the underdogs. All people will be struggling the same way, and attempting to survive against the backdrop of annihilation. The odds will definitely NOT be in your favor.

So, my friends, there’s my argument for the apocalypse. Could it happen? Perhaps.

Will it happen? Only God knows.

All I can say is this: if you see anyone with some intestines hanging out of their mouth, please let me know as soon as possible, ok? 

Just in case.

🙂

Leave a Reply

